Have I Got Views For You!

Firstly, let me apologise if I have stolen the headline from anyone in the world who may have previously used such a pun. OK, that’s out of the way, now on to the business of this post.

Yesterday I was watching the news and an item came on that had me both amused and indignant at the same tinomorepage3me (it is possible, trust me). The Girlguiding movement, ie Brownies, Guides and so on had joined in the campaign to bring an end to the S*n Newspaper’s Page 3 feature, stating that “Children shouldn’t grow up thinking that this is the norm and that it is right. Young girls shouldn’t grow up thinking that they will achieve more by being sexually objectified,” before going on to comment that “We know that the Sun is a family newspaper. Anyone can pick it up and turn to page three and think that it is normal for young women to be treated as objects.”

Hold the phone a minute! Since when has the S*n been a ‘family newspaper’?!! Page 3 aside for a minute, there is no way I would casually leave that rag lying around for my two children to pick up, let alone bring the nasty little publication into my house in the first place.

Now, before you jump to any conclusions, I’m not bothered about Page 3 either way. Having never bought the paper, I’ve not really been confronted by the issue, but I can understand that people don’t really want to have women’s breasts in their face at the turn of a page. But there has to be some common sense deployed here folks. It’s not like you people are forced to buy the S*n, are you?! There are plenty of other reactionary, shameless, lying publications to choose from these days. Just ask the people of the City of Liverpool, who I don’t think have purchased a copy between them since April 1989. If people simply stop buying it, eventually, Mr Murdoch will have to make a decision. But as long as this lively debate continues, his rag will be at the forefront of people’s mind, making them more likely to buy the damned thing.

And if that sounds too anti-Page 3, let me say this. I would hazard a guess that maybe the S*n needs Page 3 more than Page 3 needs the S*n. It has it’s own website for starters where those inclined can see all the bare breasts they can cope with. And with modern technology as it is, all it needs is a shiny mobile phone application and I think it would happily enjoy self-sufficiency!

When all is said and done, men have been enjoying the female form in various states of undress for years, and there is nothing anyone can do to prevent it. A trip to any newsagents will provide you with a plethora of publications to pick from: FHM, Front, Loaded, NuSabine Jemeljanova in February 2013 edition of Loadedts, Zoo, not to mention the more unashamed offerings only sold in brown paper bags. And these all contain pictures of women wearing some or no clothes. Personally, as a hot-blooded man (yes, I know, I hide it well beneath this ice cool exterior) I prefer a bit of mystery, rather than the blatant. The imagination is a tool that is too often neglected.

 
Sabine Jemeljanova in February 2013 edition of Loaded

See this picture here: provocative pose, down to her underwear, BUT no bare breasts on display.Perfectly nice. So, having got that off my, ahem, chest, I’m highly tempted to find a ‘Save Page 3’ petition and sign it, just to spite those wishy-washy, namby-pamby, nanny state advocates that seem to want to spoil people’s fun at every turn.That’s me finished now, but stay tuned for more ‘Have I Got Views For You’, because I guarantee, there will be plenty of other stuff that pisses me off!!

One thought on “Have I Got Views For You!

  1. I reckon they should just extend the feature to include scantily clad provocative blokes. Then it is showing that every career choice is equal opportunity, breasts or not.

Leave a Reply

