Monday Mix-tape – 07.01.2013

Well, here were are in 2013! Did you all have a good New Year? For those of us who have been back to work, haven’t those three days felt like a whole year already?!

Well, this first weekend of the year has gone, and for the British readers of a certain age, the highlight was most definitely the weekend of retro, or ‘Old Skool’ children’s programming on the Citv channel. The programmes that we grew up with and had our view of the world formed by. Rainbow, Count Duckula, Super Gran, The Sooty Show and many more nuggets of televisual wonderment! For those who have no bleedin’ idea, just Youtube it, ok?!

And so, in honour of that slice of retro, this first Monday Mix-tape of 2013 is my own slice of retro – the music I was listening to in my formative years…

1) Living In A Box – Living In A Box
The sheer brilliance of the lyric made it stick in my mind!

2) Me, Myself And I – De La Soul
Heavily influenced by my brother’s record collection here!

3) Ice Ice Baby – Vanilla Ice
Look, I felt comfortable with it at the time!

4) Mama Said Knock You Out – LL Cool J
Another brotherly influence, but what a track!

5) Ghostbusters – Ray Parker Jr
Courtesy of the NOW compilation albums rather than the film itself!

6) What Do You Want To Make Those Eyes At Me For? – Shakin’ Stevens
It just got into my head, and it’s still there if you look closely!

7) Heaven Is A Place On Earth – Belinda Carlisle
It probably stood out on Top of The Pops!

8) Man In The Mirror – Michael Jackson
It was my Jacko phase post Moonwalker!

9) Funky Cold Medina – Tone Loc
Another NOW compilation nugget – always made me laugh!

10) Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns N Roses
My brother’s introduction to ‘real music’, aged 8!

There you have it. Arguably the soundtrack to my first decade on this planet. There are probably loads more I could pick out if I felt like it, but these ten are certainly a pretty good snapshot!

So, what songs have stood out from your childhood?!

Until next week…

Leave a Reply

