Monday Mix-tape – 19.11.2012

Hello, again, folks! We’ve passed the half-way point of November now, and the C-word is now just 37 days away. For a change, I’ve pretty much completed my C-word shopping, so it will be a relaxed time in the Moore-Kober household – apart from the crafting frenzy currently in action next to me as I type!

This week’s ten tracks have been inspired by an uneducated remark made by that Irish-Westlife-twonk in this year’s edition of Strictly Come Dancing (I’m not a fan, but we put it on around bedtime so that Anthony sees that there is nothing worth staying awake for!) where he announced the song he was going to be dancing to was ‘The Best Is Yet To Come’ by Michael Buble. Now, the uneducated amongst us will probably not see that as particularly inaccurate, but as I’m educated, it got my back up good and proper! Firstly, there have been countless versions of that song long before Buble was able to talk, let alone hold a note, and secondly, he’s not very good in my opinion.

Which got me thinking, so here are ten tracks by ten artists who have more talent in their socks than Buble will ever dream of having, and some of them are dead! In fact, I would anticipate that if you were to exhume Frank Sinatra’s body, he would still put on a better show!!

1) The Best Is Yet To Come – Frank Sinatra
Although not in this list!

2) Volare – Dean Martin
Frank’s Rat Pack buddy!

3) Can’t Take My Eyes Off You – Andy Williams
Who’s been playing with the glue?!

4) Rags To Riches – Tony Bennett
The ultimate Lottery win!

5) Beyond The Sea – Bobby Darin
Another quality crooner!

6) The Candy Man – Sammy Davis Jr
Sweet entry from the third Rat Packer!

7) Unforgettable – Nat King Cole
One of the few I could remember!

8) Release Me – Engelbert Humperdinck
It kept the Beatles off Number One!

9) Catch A Falling Star – Perry Como
Watch out for sharp corners!

10) Always On My Mind – Mike Reid
Yes, I’m saying Frank Butcher is better than Buble!


And that concludes my Better-than-Buble Mix-tape selection. I think you’ll find it hard to argue that he is superior to ANY of the above artists, which means my job is done.

Until next time, amigos!

Leave a Reply

