Albums You Should Own: Beatles Special

Returning to my series which attempts to ensure you have a music collection as good as mine, you’re in for a treat this time around. Because I’m going to suggest not one, not two, nor three but four. Yes! Four albums in one go!

Yes, over the next week I am going to tell you that you should own EVERY single Beatles album (the 13 studio albums and the 2 Past Masters albums). And I’m going to tell you why you should own them. When I planned this blog post, I asked myself “how shall I order them? Should I put them in order of my favourite?” Then I said to myself: “Bollocks. I’ll do it chronologically!”

So, here it is then, the first part of my Beatles Albums You Should Own Extravaganza!!!!

Please Please Me
The first album which was an attempt to capture them “as live”. When they entered the studio to record the album, producer George Martin got them to run through their live repertiore and this album is the result. Recorded in one day (how many artists could boast that achievement these days?), bursting with youthful energy and containing a mixture of covers and self-penned songs, this announced that The Beatles were here, and ready to take on the world. From Paul’s count-in on ‘I Saw Her Standing There’ through changing tempo’s of ‘Anna (Go To Him)’ and ‘Chains’, the first single ‘Love Me Do’, a bit of a show tune in ‘A Taste Of Honey’ to the final rip-roaring, throat-shredding vocal of ‘Twist And Shout’, this album is a must.
With The Beatles
Having shown their versatility with the first album, The Beatles returned to the studio to provide their ever growing band of devoted fans with another mix of covers and Lennon/McCartney originals. The album also allowed George Harrison to showcase his own songwriting skills. Of the covers, ‘You Really Got A Hold On Me’ and ‘Roll Over Beethoven’ stand out, and of the self-written songs, ‘All My Loving’ is by far the best in my opinion. Then there is the song that inspired Mick Jagger and Keith Richards to start writing, ‘I Wanna Be Your Man’ which John and Paul finished in front of them and gave to them for a single.
A Hard Day’s Night

The first and only album completely written by Lennon and McCartney, and recorded to tie in with their first big screen outing. You’ve got the heavyweights of ‘A Hard Day’s Night’ and ‘Can’t Buy Me Love’, along side the underrated ‘If I Fell’, ‘You Can’t Do That’ and ‘I’ll Be Back’. The fact that they were able to produce 13 of their own songs of such consistent quality amidst the singles, touring and filming shows what talent and commitment The Beatles had to their music. You might wonder how they managed it. But they did. Get it in your collection.

Beatles For Sale
After the exertions of the first years, you would be forgiven for expecting a bit of a lull in quality or activity. Not The Beatles. Still producing 2 albums in a year, still packing them with their own songs, and still touring at the speed of sound, they produced yet more gold. Having had their legendary meeting with Bob Dylan, and his influence now seeping into their output, this album gives us the delights of ‘No Reply’, the heavily Dylanesque ‘I’m A Loser’, the world’s first fade-in track ‘Eight Days A Week’, not to mention great covers like the ‘Kansas City/Hey Hey Hey Hey’ medley and George’s rendition of ‘Everybody’s Trying To Be My Baby’.

So, four albums in two years, not to mention the endless tours, a film and hit singles. Bet you can’t wait for the next one now!

Leave a Reply

